1:28 pm
, 0°
     View Program    Thursday, June 20, 2024
Leflore County Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of Leflore County. It consists of five members elected by the people every four years. The Board generally meets three times each month at the Court House.

  Your Selected Video   
Leflore County Board of Supervisors
First Meeting of the Month
Monday, June 3, 2024

Running Time 54 min
First Posted on Tuesday, June 4, 2024 at 9:59 am

Interim county administrator and tax accessor Leroy Ware presented changes to the personal tax roll, and several new hires for the solid waste department.

The board received the audits for the county and the public library.

The board approved payment to the Chamber of Commerce for its share of the stars and stripes celebration.

The board voted to appoint Johnny Gary as interim circuit clerk. Anjuan Brown and Sam Abraham argued against the move, with Brown stating that there had been no discussion about the matter prior to it being brought up at the last minute during the board meeting.

Referring to the recent county audit report, with its numerous findings and exceptions resulting from Mr. Gary's previous tenure as chancery clerk and county administrator, Abraham told the board members: "I'm not sure that y'all haven't lost your mind at this point, but how many offices do you want to mess up in this court house?"

The board voted 3 to 2 to appoint Gary as circuit clerk anyway, with Moore, Mitchell, and Collins voting in favor, and Brown and Abraham voting against the move.